Charles Manson and Dale Carnegie are best friends?!

So Charles Manson got his idea and genius from the Dale Carnegie book.  I decided to go take a look at it again.  Hmmm first chapter talks about how criminals don’t take responsibility for their actions but in fact believe THEY were the victims.  Interesting…

Mr. Carnegie goes on to say that this is how people are.  People do NOT like taking responsibility for themselves.  OK he doesn’t say it that way… what he says is people think what they do is the best thing and, I suppose, they are doing the best thing for themselves.  I guess it boils down to “selfishness” which, as a surprise to me, isn’t always a bad thing!

I was taught to be giving and basically to get run over because I’m a girl and that’s what good girls do… When we stood up for yourselves we were called selfish or a bitch or moody.  When a guy does it, he’s being assertive and dignified.  He’s supposed to stand up for himself.

But being selfish and asking people to listen to you, is not ab ad thing.  If you demand it, it makes you powerful.  If you believe in your heart that what you have to say is important and command people to listen to you, the world is your oyster.  The power is awesome!  And to some, it goes way over in their heads and things go awry…

So what does Charles Manson have to do with Dale Carnegie?  Two words:  Dale’s book

Charles read Dale’s book and that’s how he became a genius manipulator.  This is going to sound seriously awkward but I am fascinated and I can even say I admire Mr. Manson.

Why?  Because of the way his mind works!  I am sad that he didn’t use it for something more useful but the man is brilliant.  I’ve heard several interviews from him and yeah, he “acts” nuts but that’s his genius…  He gets people to get their guard down by confusing them or thinking he’s just an idiot and bam! he injects his poison…or message…whichever way you want to look at it.

Now I’m not saying I want to be a serial killer, but I’d love to have my mind work the way his does.  Not to manipulate people and make them do my bidding, but rather to have the power to understand why people do what they do.  Though yes, I admit, I do get my moments where it’d be nice if people always did what I wanted…

I suspect that with Mr. Manson, the power was overwhelming and it went “the wrong way” and well, he did what he did… only he didn’t.  He only SUGGESTED things to do, he didn’t command, and even if he had, those people still had choices.  Just from the interviews though, I can see how he could be persuasive… he sounds like authority… and I guess, my friends, that’s what I need to do too.

The way he speaks is very confident and like he knows what the heck he’s talking about.  And maybe he does, but I suspect he’s just talking out of his bum.  I suspect he has no idea what he’s talking about but it doesn’t come out that way.  It’s like when I’m at work and people ask me where X item is.  I may not have a clue but I sure look like I do!  I say well it should be in X location, let’s go see.  If it’s not there, I say oh! I guess they moved it.  Let’s try Y location.   Either which way, I’m sure no one’s saying “she has no friggin clue, does she?”  because the way I present it, with confidence, it sounds like it’s not in X location because someone else moved it and didn’t tell me.

So maybe I DO speak with authority and didn’t realise it.  I just have to believe, as Mr. Manson does, that I know what I’m saying at all times.  I have to give myself that boost and that confidence that no matter WHAT comes out of my mouth, it’s always the correct thing!

I believe that’s what Mr. Carnegie is talking about.  Present yourself with the best “face” forward and you can influence the world.  Clearly, Mr. Manson did, just that.  It started out with a few people, a group, a cult… but now he’s known world wide.  Maybe he meant to get famous or maybe he just wanted to be heard.  Without actually speaking to him, I may never know…

But one thing we can learn is this:  Speak with confidence and the world will listen.

Don’t worry about being a bitch or moody.  Just. Speak.

Leave a Reply

