National Novel Writing Month (also known as NaNoWriMo)

I will refer to this as Nano from now on because let’s face it, I’m lazy.  I’m a writer, yes, but I like to keep words short and simple.  Not that I can’t write long words like Onomatopoeia because I clearly can, I just prefer not to… call it the layman in me.  (My mind just went elsewhere, as it always does, with that word.)

I like to speak to people the way most people speak, the general public, I mean.  I know we have the elites, the academics, and the professor intellect types and those people use more eloquent words.  And there’s also the people who’s schooling didn’t go that far or maybe they just weren’t paying attention…  I don’t know.  What I do know is I don’t speak like that either.  So for me, I have to find a comfortable middle ground.  I’m not going to go on speaking or writing like I’m in a constant IM or text conversation.  To me, that’s a bit silly and it can be confusing.  “UR gon insane 2n g2g mk, ttyl.”  took me a long time to type because I’m just not that versed in this kind of speech.  And maybe no one speaks like this, but I’ve seen a lot of text speech, as I call it and I can figure it out, for the most part, but I gotta wonder how much in a hurry someone is if they have to type like this all the time?  I’m not that much in a hurry, so I type normal or maybe lazily is a better term…

OK, now that I have that out of the way I can talk about Nano, the original thought and hence the title of this piece.  Nano is a once a year deal where writers all over the world go crazy and try to type out 50K words in one month.  Not a huge deal for some of us but a humongous almost impossible (and for some it IS an impossible) task.  I’m not in a hurry.  I write what I write and sometimes I write 50k in a weekend, sometimes it takes a few weeks, but a whole month?  There is no issue here for me… but then again, I tend to talk too much and write just as much so that’s my reasoning for why this month is like no other for me.

The thing about Nano is people think it’s supposed to be some prettied up piece of prose and it reall isn’t.  All first drafts tend to be crap when you’re writing a novel… oh right… I forgot to tell you this happens ever November.  My guess is because it’s “Novel” and “November” makes it easier to remember what time of year this happens.   In any case, as other people are sitting around sweating their ugly novels, I’m sitting around writing this piece for you guys.  Does it count for my word count?  Of coures it does.  You see, the easy thing about Nano is they only care about word count.  Not content, not pieces, not anything more than word counts.  So if you want to write Nano 50 thousand times, you can, and you’d still win!  And that’s what people want to see… the words “I won NaNoWriMo” on their accomplished list.  I see the attraction.
But what happens to those that don’t make it?  Some people work 12 hour days, they have babies, they have families, or events that make it impossible for them to write?  Well… now they feel like utter crap because they couldn’t write 50K words, real words, in one month.  I don’t think that’s fair.  As a writer, the more you write, the better and easier it gets.  So why was this event even created?  I’m not going into a history lesson.  I’ll give you my thoughts on the matter.  I imagine it started with the idea of pushing writers to write.  Not a bad idea… this motivation of winning a prize seems to work for some people.  Even if the prize is “I won nothing but satisfaction!”  Ey, not a bad idea, right?  Some people go nuts and decided to write their 50K in ONE day.  So they prep and write and write and write for one day and BAM, November 1st comes and goes and they won.  I wonder what they do the rest of the month?  Do they try to win twice?  Three times? Or do they simply hang up their shoes (or typewriters?) til next year?  Hmmm…   I should go ask…

After 50K in a day, do they look like this?

Now for those of you thinking well it can’t be that hard to write 50K words in a month, I suggest you try it.  This little piece of mine says that I’ve only written 792 words up until the number.  So not even a thousand words and look how much I’ve said already?  Imagine a whole novel… 50 times the size of this blog piece…  Still think it’s easy?  OK…   Maybe you’re just like me and this piece takes you like 10 minutes, not a whole afternoon.  I’m lucky though… I have no distractions, except maybe facebook or the internet.  But if I sit down to actually write, it doesn’t take long to say stuff.

If you’re a writer, your desk (writing area) just might look like this and that’s normal!

And yes, this piece will go in my Nano piece, along with my other pieces, for this word count.  I know I just said that, but see, I have to make more words or this thing will be too short.  Now I’m just having fun with you.  The truth is, I’m paranoid.  I don’t want to post my novel on a site where it might get stolen, so instead, I’m writing this piece and this will serve as my word count.  Perhaps I’ll post this same pice 50 times in there…  I mean, why not?  If word count is all that matters, then this piece should be like no other and then I too would have won Nano…  But don’t think that I’m cheating.  My novel, which is currently (so far) 70K words is my real reason for winning.  I just don’t feel like posting it to that site, as I said, I’m paranoid…

My novel keeps growing and growing, just as it always has… I started, a long time ago, with a notebook… I then wrote and wrote and wrote… 3000 plus pages later, I had my book and it wasn’t finished, I just had to start typing it on a computer and well it grew from there… now the thing is a monster and a series… it also spiked up other pieces I wasn’t expecting to write but that’s what happens when you’re a writer… you write this, that, and the other and plot bunnies later, you end up with several pieces to work on at the same time.  When I entered Nano I had one idea… it then spat out 5 others… now I have 6 and the list keeps growing!  Can you see why I have no problems with the 50k?

I hope you didn’t just do this:


Plot bunnies, in case you don’t know, are these magical creatures that come and reproduce on your writing piece as you’re working it… so let’s say you have boy meets girl, falls in love with girl, lives happily ever after.  Yes, it can be that simple.  A plot bunny will come along in the middle of your story and make more babies… next thing you know you have this:  bboy meets girl, meets other boy, wonders if he’s gay, decides he’s bisexual and polyamorous, so he marries both boy and girl and they live, no, not happily ever after because girl decides she doesn’t want to be poly and second boy decides he doesn’t want to be with a bisexual, so they both dump the first boy and boy becomes emo… but wait, then he drinks some elixir potion thing and it turns him into a unicorn who loves waffles…  Yeah, it’s THAT random… plot bunnies are fun and evil at the same time.  And well, what you first started with is not how you ended.   In my book, my characters were happy.  Plot bunnies decided that was too easy.  And if you ever read my books, then you’ll see what I mean.  They created a lot of drama for my poor characters…and they still are, creating drama, and the thing about plot bunnies is, you never know when or where they will show up.  You can try shooing them away and shooting at them and maybe even killing them but believe you me, they WILL come back in full force, so you might as well just go with it.  And that’s what I do…

It was plot bunnies who got me the 6 ideas and its’ them who’s creating more every day…  And now I know why some writers are full time!  There just isn’t enough time in a day to write all the things the plot bunnies want you to or that you can write without going nuts!  And this is probably why a lot of writers are seen as “nuts” because we have stuff going on all the time in our heads.  Add to the face that I’m a girl and well, you can only imagine the insanity that’s going on in my brain right now.  But you know what? I’ve written 1600 plus words now and I didn’t mean to… dang plot bunnies…  I wish you could see what I mean about them.  I meant to write a simple piece about Nano and now I’ve written about other things that may or may not have entertained you.  I better get off this piece now.

I’ll see you guys in the next one!  I’ll write something fun… maybe another “let’s look at this song” piece?  Word count or not, I want to keep writing today.  Shouldn’t be so hard… these plot bunnies are in full force today!  Catch you next time!

Leave a Reply

