Meghan Trainor – All About That Bass; What I think about that video

First, let’s start with the lyrics:

The chorus:
Because you know I’m all about that bass,
‘Bout that bass, no treble
I’m all ’bout that bass, ’bout that bass, no treble
I’m all ’bout that bass, ’bout that bass, no treble
I’m all ’bout that bass, ’bout that bass

Not much to say except a play on words here, obviously she’s nto talking about bass and treble musically speaking.  She’s talking about base, either the butt (aka the base on someone’s body) or the inner beauty (aka foundation of personality.)  And treble, I can only guess, means no trouble…  as in it’s no big deal.  That’s cute, I guess, but it’s too bubble gum for me, I need meat… which brings me to my next issue… where IS the meat?!

I guess it’s too much to expect for a pop song to actually have something to say, right?  I know she sings, “Yeah it’s pretty clear, I ain’t no size two.”  But she’s not fat, either.  I have NO IDEA why people think this is some embrace your fatness anthem.  The girl’s looks thin-ish.  Now I know, according to the fashion industry who likes size 00’s she’s some beached whale the size of Texas, but to my eyes, she just looks normal on the thin side.   Then again, this song was writtin in 45 minutes and it’s shocking it took that long, considering how dumb it is.  The other song “Lips are moving” took 8 minutes to write and it shows.  That one’s dumber than this one!  But that’s a different blog…

She continues, “But I can shake it, shake it like I’m supposed to do, ‘Cause I got that boom boom that all the boys chase, All the right junk in all the right places, I see the magazines working that Photoshop, We know that shit ain’t real, Come on now, make it stop”

Really Meghan?  Make it stop?  Do you honestly think people who read magazines want to see reality?  Are people who read magazines that stupid?  Do they really think, omg, I hate that everyone is airbrushed and photoshopped… I want to see the whales (aka normal people) that I see every day in my magazine!   No, they don’t.  Maybe some do, but some, like myself, don’t.  Magazines are about fantasy and glamour.   Stuff we normal people don’t have!  So yes, throw me the barbie dolls, I like seeing them!  I’m not dumb enough to believe this is what I should look or dress like!  Have you seen some of those magazines?  No one in their right mind would come out looking like some of those models!  Their makeup and clothes are ridiculous.  And if someone does want to look and act like those models, well, they should be in some kind of institution… no one I know wants to walk around with giraffe hats and weird make up covering half their face in awful colours!

But back to the song, “If you got beauty beauty just raise ’em up, ‘Cause every inch of you is perfect, From the bottom to the top, Yeah, my momma she told me don’t worry about your size, She says, boys they like a little more booty to hold at night, You know I won’t be no stick-figure, silicone Barbie doll,”

Well, I don’t know… some guys like the silicone barbies, and some like a little meat, and some like a lot… In this case, mom was right.  Is every inch perfect?  I guess… if you listen to Lady Gaga, you were born that way, so I guess so!  And what’s up with the pop industry all of a sudden?  Why are they producing the same song with different artists?  Did they run out of original crap to say?!  Do I blame the artists or the industry?  Who’s making these lousy decisions?

Meghan continues, “So, if that’s what’s you’re into, Then go ahead and move along.” and we’re back to the chorus.  I think this line is the best line in the whole song.  If a dude (or a girl) isn’t into you, then move along.  Either they move along or you do, but it doesn’t matter how hot you think you are, if they don’t like it, the whole thing is moot.  For myself, I don’t care how hot a guy is, if he’s an ass, I will move along.  I like some kind of substance with my eye candy.

And Meghan kills me by singing, “I’m bringing booty back” So… you turned into Justin Timberlake now?  He brought sexy back so you’re bringing booty?  Will he have you naked at the end of his song…?   If you don’t get the reference, go listen to that song…  Or I’ll save you the trouble…treble?  Anyway, he sings that line in that song.  It’s not that great of a song either so if you don’t like it, don’t say I didn’t warn you.

Back to Meghan, “Go ahead and tell them skinny bitches Hey, No, I’m just playing I know you think you’re fat,
But I’m here to tell you that, Every inch of you is perfect from the bottom to the top” And we’re back to some repetitive thing about barbie dolls and the dang chorus again.

Soo… let’s insult girls by calling them skinny bitches but oh JK LOL, no, no, I know you think you’re fat too, so it’s OK, you’re one of us.  Really?!  Wow…. that was a low blow!  Every inch of you is perfect but only if you think you’re fat, because if you know you’re skinny, ey, go to hell…   OK then!

Well, what else can I say?  I did say, at the start of this, that the song was dumb.  Did she mean to insult people?  Probably not…  Did the pop industry think it’d make money by riding the fat wave?  Absolutely!

So am I mad at this song or the industry?  I’m nto sure.  I just know that media in general has declined… like no one knows what to say anymore.  Movies are remakes and songs are remakes, can someone out there bring out something original?  Will someone in the music industry let these artists actually be artists?!  God I sure hope that happens soon!  I guess only time can tell…

Until next time, I’ll scour the music on Pandora to find something good!  Catch you later folks!

Leave a Reply

