I’m having a secret love affair!

78a04427992c11daa51dfc7080d1bd7b

Yes I know what you’re thinking… well it’s not so secret anymore, is it!  You’re writing the world about it, surely the other party will find out.  Nah, they won’t.  Firstly, they don’t ever read my blog, second, they don’t even go on the computer or a mobile device unless I’m on it and then they tend to distract me from it anyway so it doesn’t matter.  Let me explain:

The affair includes secret snuggles and pettings out of sight of my love.  I have a jealous love you see, so outright snuggles and pettings are out of the “OK”  realm, as I suppose, is rightly so, in their mind.  Have you ever seen so many commas?  Yes I’m digressing.  This isn’t an easy thing to admit!  Or maybe it is.  Do I feel guilty?  Only slightly…

It’s not that I don’t love my beloved, I do!  Wholeheartedly but you know how sometimes you just want two of something?  Kind of like seconds because well, the first one just wasn’t enough?  This is what’s happening.  It all started out so innocent, you see.  I was snuggling and petting my love and then, she jumped away and left me cold and unsnuggled.  I wasn’t unsatisfied but I also felt empty, does that even make sense?  Anyway I went and searched for a new love.   That way I would never be left un-snuggled.

people-looking-for-something-seeking-guidiance

So of I went to find that new love that would make it all OK.  I searched for a while.  I found one, but then my kid decided to take her.  She too was unloved and who am I to decide to leave my kid without love?  I’m not a cruel mama, so I let her have that second love.  And I was back on the search!  This time, I was looking high and low.  I found some that were kind of interesting but all were failing the love test, except the last one, who was sneezing.  I can’t have a sick love… no, no… that would spread to my first love and besides, they wouldn’t let me have her that way.  So I went home, alone, again.  Hubs said we should have taken her anyway but I don’t know, I guess it just wasn’t time yet.  Hubs, you see, supports this affair.  He has no qualms about it.  Why?  Well, let me tell you some more.

It has nothing to do with the fact that my love is female.  I know, most guys love the whole two female thing but that’s not what’s happening here.  You see, my love, doesn’t have that much to do with him.  She might sit for a spell but she’s fickle.  She only loves for a bit then runs off, she’s very much the diva.  Her rules, her way, her attention or lack of, much like a dominatrix, in a sense, except there are no whips or chains, just claws…  I get scratched quite a bit.  But I don’t mind, I like having her love.  Have you guessed by now?

Hubs doesn’t really need as much attention from her anyway, so that could also be why…  Anyway, back to my story… I went back to searching and wouldn’t you know it?  I found him!   He was one of, I think, three choices again.  The shelter, where he lived, was full and they lied about his age.  He was tiny but oh the loves!  He was perfect!  I took him home and he’s been loving ever since.  I feel complete!  But this is how the love affair started.   My love, being fickle, decided she was also jealous.   She made her presence known.  As I type she’s sitting here, completely ignoring me, but letting me know she’s here.  Don’t worry, she won’t read the computer but she’s definitely giving me this look, though she’s not looking at me right now:

1e8b57b
So maybe now you understand why I have to have secret snuggles and pettings lest she find out!   She lets him know it’s not OK.   When she’s in full diva mode or snoring, I cuddle.  When I go to the restroom or early in the morning and my love is “tired” of me, I pet him and on occasion we even snuggle for a long time!   Sometimes she comes over and he runs off but for the most part, we’re doing OK.  And goodness is he loud about how pleased he is!   Good thing she doesn’t care too much about that.  She’s a bit loud herself but I think he’s louder!  I have no complaints.  It’s very soothing to hear that kind of pleasure and it makes me feel warm and fuzzy.  And you know?  He hasn’t clawed me once!  I’d say that was a bonus, but then how could he?  He’s not around enough for that, though he occasionally likes to nibble my hands but that’s not a big deal.  But against her, he stands no chance.  At least not yet… maybe when he gets older.  He’ll be bigger than her, no doubt!

For now, lucky for him, he’s not alone.  You see, when he came home we have another female who took him under her wing.  She protected him and, in a sense, acted like a surrogate mother to him.  He was very young, you see, when I got him.  They told me he was 4 months old and I knew better.   He was, at best, 2 months old and barely weighed anything.   He was already neutered and ready to go, so we took him home.  I’m sure the shelter was very happy to have one less mouth to feed.   Have you guessed by now?   I’m talking about our cats.

We have four.   One who might as well be a dog, he is most curious and lets people know he’s here but he’s not a bully unless you bring another animal in the house.  Then he’s pissy and growly for a few days (months?) and then he’s back to jolly again.  He did run out one of the cats, a gray male, who had no protector because his “sister” was my love.  She was a little diva back then!   I tried to protect him but cat against cat I was lost.  He ran away and I never got him back.   The rescue, where we got him, called about 3 months later I want to say? that they found him and were going to bring him back but after I told them the situation, they rehomed him.  I’m sure he’s happier now.  I was bittersweet.  Glad he was OK and sad he wasn’t here with me.  But now I understand why.

This new baby cat had our second female, a strong female who, I guess, is the equivalent of Mr. pissy, which we named Kink because his tail has a kink in it.  Yeah, we’re not that creative…  The second female is named Dash because she used to run around like a mad kitty from place to place.  She doesn’t do that anymore unless you want to cuddle, then she runs off and when she can’t I swear her eyes grow three times the size of her head and well, that’s just weird.   I think she should be called Bug but hubs wants to keep Dash, so there she is.  She’s very secure and maybe that’s why Munchie, the little guy, was able to “survive” Kink’s  mean streak.   Kink is fine with Munchie now, by the way.  That’s Kink chewing on the cord… Dash is the one on the top rank observing everything.  She was kind of top dog even when she was little, haha.

three cats in the tree

That little dark one there?  That was Shark.  She ate everything in her path and she could smell food from miles away.  She could be peacefully sleeping but if you went to the kitchen and got some food, suddenly you had a cat attached to your hip!  Unfortunately, she was also skittish.  She couldn’t survive the diva so she hid a lot.  We toyed with naming her Skittles for a while.  I loved her though.  I lost her in the fourth of July fire last year.  We took almost half an hour trying to catch her as we had to evacuate.  We finally did but her brain was broken.  She was so scared after that she was super skittles after we came home.   They day after, I went to work, came home and she was nowhere to be found.  I thought, becuase she was hiding a lot before, she was still scared from the fire insanity.  But no, I never found her.   We can only assume she ran out.  We looked high and low, left food out, etc. but my little one never came home…  It was probably her love I was missing before I got Munchie.  I can still hope that one day she comes back, she has a chip, but as time goes, it seems less likely.  But you never know, I might have 5 cats one day!

That was sad news, but if that hadn’t happened, I wouldn’t have found Munchie, named because he likes to chew on a lot of things, my hands included, is my second love.  He’s the one I’m having the affair with.  As I said, he purrs up a storm but for now, I have to keep him “hidden” from the diva, as far as our affections are concerned.  Here are the duos, you can see Munchie with Dash, back when they both fit in one of the cat tree beds.  They don’t fit like that anymore…

IMG_20150817_001135-1[1]

20160110_024856-1[1]

 

 

 

 

 

But they still remain friends, together.  Now I bet you’re wondering where the diva cat is… well, surprisingly, her name is not Ms. Diva though it should be.  I told you, we aren’t that creative.  Her name is Furrette though originally I was planning on calling her silver, because of her colour… I should have know I was in trouble…at the rescue, her name was Princess.  Yup, she lives up to that name, except now I think it’s the queen.  But only to me, I think.  Dash and Kink tend to be the ones that go hey, what’s going on?  While Furrette is perfectly content ignoring  everyone and sometimes she does it so well you can’t even see her!  So, without further ado, here’s my love, the jealous cow, as I call her affectionately.  The one whom I love to see and she loves to ignore me, at least until she decides she wants the cuddles, then I can’t get her off me.  Unless hubs walks in, then I get scratched as she jumps off.  No sir, you can’t watch her cuddle!  That’s some kind of sacrilege!   Anyway, here she is in all her glory giving the, “And who said you can take a picture?!” look:Message_1413866887420[1]

That’s Kink again.  He’s into everything, so of course he’s in there too.  She’s more camera shy so I don’t have too many of her but the ones I do, Kink’s usually there too, haha.  The only reason he’s not there with Dash and Munchie is because he didn’t fit but chances are he was in another spot on the tree or nearby.  He loves to explore and if you have something in your hand he wants to know what it is, even if you just showed him.

I love my fur kids!  Every day is very entertaining.   Do you forgive me for having an affair?  I hope so!  I’m sure you have your own in some way or another.  And if you have a diva like I do, let me know!  Thanks for reading!

Edit:  I forgot to say all my cats are from rescue or from the shelter.  I’ve only had rescue pets and they’ve always been the best.  Please adopt from a rescue/shelter before buying.   You’ll be glad you did!

Leave a Reply

